American Society of Cinematographers Re-elects Stephen Lighthill As President

on board of governors American Society of Cinematographers re-elected on Monday Stephen Lighthill As President for a third one year term.

comes as news ASC The board conducted its 2022-23 officer elections. Lighthill will work with Vice Presidents Amy Vincent, John Simmons and Shelley Johnson; Treasurer Steven Poster; Secretary Greg Heshong; and Sergeant-at-Arms Chris Chomin.

“As an organization, we are focused on education, continuously improving safety practices, and expanding our diversity and outreach efforts,” Lighthill said. “The past year has presented many adversities for our community, and we are proud of how our members have met these challenges and continue to take the story to new places.”

ASC board members elected by the organization’s active membership also include Curtis Clark, Richard Crudeau, Steven Fairberg, Michael Goye, Ed Latchman, Patti Lee, Charlie Lieberman, Lowell Peterson, Lawrence Scher, John Toll and Robert Yeoman. John Bailey, Eric Steelberg, Jim Denault, Patrick Cody and Dana Gonzales are alternate board members.

Lighthill’s DP credits include Gimme Shelter And Berkeley in the sixties (the latter of which was nominated for an Oscar in 1991) and TV’s nash bridge, among others. He is also the Discipline Chair for Cinematography at the American Film Institute Conservatory and has served on the National Executive Board of the International Cinematographers Guild.

The ASC has over 430 members from 20 countries, with over 260 associate members from allied sectors of industry.