‘ER’ Star Anthony Edwards Joins Tony-Nominated ‘Girl From The North Country’ On Broadway

Calling Dr. Mark Green. Please report to Broadway Stage.

er Star Anthony Edwards Friday Night Broadway Musical Debut “Dr. Walker” in Tony-Nominated Girl from the north country, With several members of the company pulled out of the show due to the COVID-19 infection, Edwards stepped in at the last minute (and only after an hour of rehearsal) to make sure the show went on.

He starred alongside his wife Mare Winningham, who was recently nominated for a Tony Award for his role.

major producer of Girl from the north country Tristan Baker made a pre-show announcement to express his gratitude for the production swings and understanding, and told the house they were in for an extra special show. Baker asked if “there was a doctor in the house” to play Dr. Walker this evening, before surprising viewers with news that TV doctor Anthony Edwards would be her special guest star.

Edwards was apparently a hit. He was met with a standing ovation on the curtain call. With so little rehearsal time, Edwards relied on a script for some of the evening, but was also off-book for many scenes.

Edwards will reprise the role over the weekend.

north country girl Written and directed by playwright Conor McPherson. It redefines 20 Bob Dylan songs and is set in 1934 in Duluth, MN, when a group of wanderers intersect in a home full of music, life, and hope.

The musical received seven Tony Award nominations in 2022, including Best New Musical, Best Book of a Musical (Connor McPherson), Best Orchestration (Simon Hale), Best Sound Design for a Musical (Simon Baker), Best Direction for a Musical (Connor) Huh. Macpherson), Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical (Mare Winningham), and Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical (Genet Byrdell).

Girl from the north country Todd Almond, Colin Bates, Janet Byrdell, Craig Bierko, Jennifer Blood, Matthew Frederick Harris, Caitlin Houlahan, Robert Joy, Luba Mason, Ben Mayne, Matt McGrath, Tom Nellis, J. O. Sanders, John Schiappa, Austin Scott, Housso Seman, Kimber Elaine Sproll, Rachel Stern, Ben Toomer, Chiara Trentlange, Bob Walton, Aidan Wharton, Chelsea Lee Williams, and Tony/Academy Award nominee and two-time Emmy Award winner Mare Winningham.