European Film Awards Winners: ‘Triangle Of Sadness’ Dominates With Four Wins Including Best Film

Ruben Ostlund’s latest satire, triangle of sadnesswas dominant european film awards The top prize of the evening, with four wins including Best Film.

Ostlund also won Best Screenplay and Best Director for his work in the film, and Zlatko Burik won Best Actor for his leading role.

The film, which won the Palme d’Or this year, follows Carl (Harris Dickinson) and Yaya (Charlby Dean), a celebrity model couple who are forced on a luxury cruise for the uber rich, driven by an unbalanced boat captain. is invited ( Woody Harrelson). What first appeared on Instagrammable ends disastrously, leaving the survivors stranded on a desert island and struggling to survive.

Among other top awards, Vicki Cripps won Best Actress for the well-received period drama Corsairs, and Javier Bardem starrer, The Good Boss won Best Comedy.

The award ceremony, under the supervision of the European Film Academy, took place in the Icelandic capital of Reykjavík. Nominations in major categories including European Film, Director, Actor and Actress are voted on by the Academy’s 4,400 members in a three-stage process.

This year the event began with the inaugural edition of the European Film Month by the Academy.

As previously announced, German director Margarethe von Trotta was honored with the European Lifetime Achievement Award while Palestinian filmmaker Elia Suleiman was honored with the European Achievement in World Cinema Award.

Italian director March Bellocchio won the European Innovative Storytelling Award for his mini-series Exterior Night.

The European Film Academy’s Awards of Excellence, honoring achievement in the arts and crafts categories, were announced on 23 November. Winners included Edward Berger all Quiet on the Western Front, which selected Best European Make-up and Hair for Heike Merker, and Best European Special Effects for Frank Petzold, Victor Müller and Markus Frank. Kenneth Branagh Belfast European production design nabbed for Jim Clay.

see full efa List of winners below:

European Film:
ALCARRAS Directed by Carla Simone, produced by Maria Zamora, Stefan Schmitz, Tono Folguera and Giovanni Pompili (Spain/Italy)
Close directed by Lucas Dhont, produced by Michel Dhont, Dirk Impens, Michel St-Jean, Lorette Schillings, Arnold Heslenfeld, Frans van Gestel and Jacques-Henri Bronkart (Belgium/France/Netherlands)
Corsage directed by Marie Kreutzer, produced by Alexander Glehr, Johanna Scherz, Bernard Michaux, Jonas Doornbach, Janine Jakowski, Maren Ade and Jean-Christophe Raymond (Austria/Luxembourg/Germany/France)
Holy Spider Directed by Ali Abbasi, produced by Sol Bondi and Jacob Jarek (Denmark/Germany/Sweden/France)
Triangle of Sadness, directed by Ruben Ostlund, produced by Erik Heimendorff and Philipp Bober (Sweden/Germany/France/United Kingdom)

European Documentaries:
A House Made of Splinters directed by Simon Lereng Wilmont (Denmark/Sweden/Finland/Ukraine)
Girl Gang (Switzerland), directed by Susan Regina Meyers
MARIUPOLIS 2 directed by Mantas Kvedaravičius (Lithuania / France / Germany)
The Balcony Movie (Film Balkonowie) directed by Pawel Łoziński (Poland)
The March on Rome (Marcia su Roma), directed by Mark Cousins ​​(Italy)

European Director:
Lucas Dhont for Close
Marie Kreutzer for Corsage
Jerzy Skolimowski for EO
Ali Abbasi for Holy Spider
Alice Diop for St. Omer
Ruben Ostlund for The Triangle of Sadness

European Actress:
Vicky Cripps in Corsage
Zar Emir Ibrahimi in the sacred spider
Lea Seydoux in One Fine Morning
Penelope Cruz in Parallel Mothers
Rabiye Kurnaz VS. Captain George W. Bush in Meltem

European actors:
Paul Mescal in Aftersun
Eden Dumbrin in the Close
Elliot Crossett Hove in Godland
Pierfrancesco Favino in Nostalgia
Zlatko Burić in the triangle of misery

European Screenwriter:
Carla Simone and Arnau Vilaro for ALCARRRASS
Kenneth Branagh for Belfast
Lucas Dhont and Angelo Teijens for Klose
Ali Abbasi and Afsheen Kamran Bahrami for Holy Spider
Ruben Ostlund for The Triangle of Sadness

european comedy
COP SECRET (LEYNILOGGA), directed by Hannes Þór Halldórsson (Iceland)
The Good Boss (El Buen Patrón), directed by Fernando León de Aranoa (Spain)
The Divide (La Fracture), directed by Catherine Corsini (France)

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
107 Mothers (Senjorka) Directed by Peter Kereks (Slovakia/Czech Republic/Ukraine)
Love According to Dalva (Dalva) Directed by Emmanuel Nicot (Belgium/France)
The Others (Inni Luzzi) directed by Aleksandra Terpinska (Poland/France)
PAMFIR directed by Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk (Ukraine / France / Poland / Germany / Chile)
Small Body (Piccolo Corpo) directed by Laura Samani (Italy/Slovenia/France)
Gold directed by Kurdwin Ayub (Austria)

european animated film
Little Nicolas – Happy As Can Be (Le Petit Nicolas – Quest-si Quon Attend Pour Etre Heureux?) Directed by Amandine Friedan and Benjamin Massobre (France, Luxembourg)
My Love Affair with Marriage directed by Signe Baumann (Latvia, United States, Luxembourg)
My Neighbors’ Neighbors (Les voisins de mes voisins sont mes voisins) directed by Anne-Laure Daffys and Leo Marchand (France)
Dogs or Italians Not Allowed (Interdit aux Chiens et aux Italiens) directed by Alain Ugeto (France, Italy, Belgium, Switzerland, Portugal)
OINK (KNOR) directed by Masha Halberstadt (Netherlands, Belgium)

European Short Film:
Grannies Sexual Life (Babycino sexualno zivaljenje) directed by Urska Jukic and Emilie Pigard (Slovenia/France)
The Ice Merchant (Portugal/France/UK) directed by Joao Gonzalez
Love, Dad (Mil Tati), directed by Diana Cam Van Nguyen (Czech Republic / Slovakia)
Techno, Mama is directed by Solius Baradinskas (Lithuania).
Will My Parents Come to See Me, directed by Mo Harawe (Austria/Germany/Somalia)