Shripriya Mahesh, Lulu Wang & Patrick Gaspard Appointed To Sundance Institute’s Board of Trustees

Sundance Institute announced the addition Sripriya Mahesh, lulu wang And Patrick Gaspard to your board of trustees. The trio will now help move forward and function in an advisory capacity to the organization, working closely with Board Chairman Abbes Burano and CEO Joanna Vicente.

Mahesh is a founding partner of Spero Ventures as well as an investor, veteran technology executive and filmmaker. Wang is an award-winning writer, director and producer, best known for directing the A24 dramedy the farewell, which won two Independent Spirit Awards, including Best Feature, upon its 2019 release. A leader in government, philanthropy, labor and global diplomacy, Gaspard serves as president and CEO of the Center for American Progress.

“The new trustees bring an invaluable depth of experience in government and citizen engagement, technology and digital product development, and an in-depth knowledge of the media, entertainment and storytelling landscapes,” said Burano. “As Sundance’s programs continue to meet the evolving needs of independent artists, we welcome these three new trustees, who, together with the board, will continue to strengthen the ways in which independent storytellers are championed.”

“We are honored to have Lulu, Patrick and Sripriya on the board of Sundance Institute as trustees,” Vicente said. “Their vision and expertise provide us with innovative leadership to grow as a cultural organization and deepen our commitment to the work.”

When asked about her new leadership position, Wang shared, “Sundance played an important role in launching my filmmaking career and helped me launch into a new wave of filmmakers with a singular voice.” Honored to be on board.”

“Sundance Institute is one of the finest examples of how to support creators and help them find their way in a highly challenging industry. It has supported creators since before the ‘creator economy’ became a buzzword. Mahesh said. “I am thrilled to be able to join the board to support the institute’s mission to enable and support incredible independent filmmakers around the world.”

“I am thrilled to have an honor and a duty to join the board of Sundance at a time when the work of storytelling is aligned with the work of democratic inclusion and protection of rights around the world,” Gaspard said in closing. . “Sundance provides an important scaffolding for independent artists to take the full power of expression as a value in themselves and in service to the community.”

Mahesh, Wang and Gaspard join a board at the Institute led by President and Founder Robert Redford, as well as Burrow, and Vice Chairs Sean Bailey and Gigi Pritzker. Other members include Jason Blum, Kimberley Crenshaw, Philip Engelhorn, Caterina Feck, Jean Donovan Fischer, Robert J. Frankenberg, Donna Grunich, Cindy Harrell Horn, Uzodinma Ivella, Amanda Kelso, Charles D. King, Lisa Krone, Lynn Davis Lear, Ann. Levens, Vonya Lucas, Alejandro Ramirez Magna, Pat Mitchell, Bill Plappinger, Amy Redford, Geoffrey K. Sands, Junaid Sardin, Nadine Schiff-Rosen, Barry Tyreman and Lynette Walworth.

The board of the nonprofit behind the Sundance Film Festival today consists of 45% men and 55% women, with 11 out of 31 members identifying themselves as BIPOC.